By Law, How Far Away Must A Vessel Stay From A Displayed Diver-Down Flag?

By Law, How Far Away Must A Vessel Stay From A Displayed Diver-Down Flag
A vessel shall not be operated within 200 feet of a buoyed diver’s flag unless it is involved in tendering the diving operation. A person diving shall stay within a surface area of 100 feet of the diver’s flag.

How far must a vessel stay away from a display driver down flag?

Scuba divers or snorkelers may not dive within 50 feet of a vessel engaged in fishing, and they should display a diver-down flag that marks their diving area.

Vessels must remain at least 50 feet away from the flag. If they have to approach the diving area, operators must have permission from the person who placed the flag or the boat displaying the flag. Outside of 50 feet, vessel operators must operate at “idle speed” out to a distance of 150 feet. Patrol or rescue craft are exempt from such requirements, especially in an emergency.

Scuba divers and snorkelers should not place a flag in an area already occupied by other boaters or where their diving operation will impede the normal flow of waterway traffic. Divers also should follow all of the water safety rules themselves. Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity. Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag, at least 15 inches by 15 inches, with a white diagonal stripe is used if on South Carolina state waters. Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

How far must the vessel stay from a displayed divers down flag when operating faster than idle speed?

State law requires that scuba divers and snorkelers display a diver-down flag to mark the diving area. Vessel operators must not operate within 50 feet of a displayed diver-down flag and must reduce speed to “idle speed” when within 200 feet of the flag. Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag (at least 20 x 24 inches when flown from a vessel) with a white diagonal stripe is used to mark the diving area. This flag also must be displayed on vessels on state waters. Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on state or federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

How far away must a vessel stay from a displayed diver-down flag in Texas?

Scuba divers or snorkelers must display a diver-down flag that marks the diving area as required by the Texas Water Safety Act. Vessels must remain at least 50 feet away from the flag. If they have to approach the diving area, vessel operators must have permission from the person who placed the flag or the vessel displaying the flag.

Outside of 50 feet, vessel operators must operate at “headway speed” out to a distance of 150 feet away from the flag. Patrol or rescue craft are exempt from such requirements. Scuba divers and snorkelers should not place a flag in an area already occupied by other boaters or where their diving operation will impede the normal flow of waterway traffic.

Divers also should follow all of the water safety rules themselves. Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity. Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag, at least 15 x 15 inches, with a white diagonal stripe is required on state waters. Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

How many feet from a diver-down flag must all vessels in open waterways must attempt to stay?

Persons scuba diving, skin diving, or snorkeling in Nevada waters must display a diver-down flag to mark their diving area. Vessels not engaged in diving operations must remain at least 100 feet from the diver-down flag, except in the case of an emergency.

Vessels not engaged in diving operations must reduce speed to “no wake speed” if within a distance of 100 to 200 feet of the diver-down flag, except in the case of an emergency. Scuba divers, skin divers, and snorkelers in Nevada waters must display a divers flag and stay within 100 feet of the flag.

The flag must be in place only while diving operations are in progress. If diving between sunset and sunrise, the flag must be illuminated. Scuba divers and snorkelers should not place a flag in an area already occupied by other boaters or where their diving operation will impede the normal flow of waterway traffic. Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag, at least 12 x 12 inches in size, with a white diagonal stripe (at least 1/5 the width of the flag) may be attached to a vessel, float, or buoy. The flag must be illuminated if used between sunset and sunrise. Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

How far must a vessel stay away from a displayed diver-down flag quizlet?

Be sure you know what the ‘diver down’ flags look like. If you see either flag, keep at least 50 feet from the vessel and diving site, and move at a slow ‘no wake’ speed,

What should you do when you see a displayed diver-down flag while boating?

Persons scuba diving, skin diving, or snorkeling must display a red-and-white divers flag at or near the point of submergence that is capable of being identified from at least 100 yards. Divers or snorkelers must stay within 100 feet of their flag. Vessels not engaged in diving operations must stay at least 100 feet away from a displayed diver-down flag. Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag with a white diagonal stripe must be attached to a vessel, float, or buoy if on Colorado state waters. Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

How many feet from a diver-down flag must all vessels in open waterways must attempt to stay quizlet?

All vessels, with the exception of non-motor-powered vessels less than 16 feet in length, non-motor-powered canoes, kayaks, racing shells or rowing sculls, regardless of length, must be registered through your local Tax Collector’s Office, Letters must be separated from the numbers by a hyphen or space equal to letter width. The Certificate of Registration must be on board and available for inspection by an enforcement officer whenever the vessel is operated. Vessels must be registered and numbered within 30 days of purchase. Registration numbers must be displayed on the forward half of the vessel on both sides above the waterline. The numbers must be bold block letters at least 3″ high in a color contrasting to the hull. The vessel registration decal must be renewed annually and is to be displayed within 6 inches of, either before or after, the registration numbers on the port (left) side. Documented vessels without a state registration in full force and effect must also obtain a Florida registration and display the validation decal on the port side of the vessel when using Florida waters. Also see: flhsmv.gov

The operator of a vessel involved in a boating accident where there is personal injury beyond immediate first-aid, death, disappearance of any person under circumstances which indicate death or injury, or if there is damage to the vessel(s) and/or personal property of at least $2,000, must, by the quickest means possible, give notice to one of the following: the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, the sheriff of the county in which the accident occurred, or the police chief of the municipality in which the accident occurred, if applicable. It is unlawful for any person operating a vessel involved in a boating accident to leave the scene without giving all possible aid to the involved persons and without reporting the accident to the proper authorities. Also see: FWC Boating Accident Statistics

Anyone who operates a vessel with willful disregard for the safety of persons or property will be cited for reckless operation (a first-degree misdemeanor). All operators are responsible for operating their vessel in a reasonable and prudent manner with regard for other vessel traffic, posted restrictions, the presence of a divers-down flag and other circumstances so as not to endanger people outside of the vessel or property. Failure to do so is considered careless operation (a non-criminal infraction). A violation of the Federal Navigation Rules is also a violation of Florida law.

Florida law requires that anyone convicted of 2 non-criminal boating safety infractions within a 12-month period must enroll in, attend and successfully complete any NASBLA/State of Florida-approved boater education course. (“Attend” means you must attend a classroom course or take the course on-line.) This course must be completed following the date of the second violation, and proof of completion must be filed with the Commission’s Boating and Waterways Section. Any person convicted of a boating infraction which resulted in a reportable boating accident or convicted of any criminal boating violation must complete any NASBLA/State of Florida-approved boating safety course and also complete an approved safe boating course for violators. Violator courses require approximately 4 hours to complete and must be taken through a specified State of Florida-approved online course. A violator’s privilege to operate a vessel in Florida is suspended until proof of course completion is filed with the FWC. Frequently Asked Questions

See also:  What Does Apart From The Law Mean?

The exhaust of every engine used on any airboat operated in Florida must use an automotive-style factory muffler, underwater exhaust, or other manufactured device capable of adequately muffling the sound of the engine exhaust. The use of cutouts or flex pipe as the sole source of muffling is prohibited. Airboats must be equipped with a mast or flagpole displaying a flag that is at least 10 feet above the lowest part of the boat. The flag must be square or rectangular, at least 10 inches by 12 inches in size, international orange in color, and displayed so it is visible from any direction.

Any vessel operating in a speed zone posted as “Idle Speed – No Wake” must operate at the minimum speed that allows the vessel to maintain headway and steerageway. Any vessel operating in a speed zone posted as “Slow Down – Minimum Wake” must operate fully off plane and completely settled in the water. The vessel’s wake must not be excessive nor create a hazard to other vessels.

It is a violation of Florida law to operate a vessel while impaired by alcohol or other drugs. A vessel operator suspected of boating under the influence must submit to sobriety tests and a physical or chemical test to determine blood- or breath-alcohol content. In Florida, a vessel operator is presumed to be under the influence if their blood- or breath-alcohol level is at or above,08. Any person under 21 years of age who is found to have a breath-alcohol level of,02 or higher and operates or is in actual physical control of a vessel is in violation of Florida law.

The operator of a vessel towing someone on skis or another aquaplaning device must either have an observer, in addition to the operator, on board who is attendant to the actions of the skier or have and use a wide-angle rear-view mirror. No one may ski or aquaplane between the hours of 1/2 hour past sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise. No one may water ski or use another aquaplaning device unless they are wearing a U.S. Coast Guard-approved non-inflatable wearable personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable PFDs are prohibited for skiing/aquaplaning. No one may ski or use another aquaplaning device while impaired by alcohol or other drugs. The operator of a vessel towing a skier may not pull the skier close enough to a fixed object or another vessel that there is risk of collision.

Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear an approved non-inflatable wearable personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable PFDs are prohibited for personal watercraft use. The operator of a personal watercraft must attach the engine cutoff switch lanyard (if equipped by the manufacturer) to his/her person, clothing or PFD. Personal watercraft may not be operated from 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise, even if navigation lights are used. Remember, both federal and state law requires the use of navigation lights from sunset to sunrise. Maneuvering a personal watercraft by weaving through congested vessel traffic, jumping the wake of another vessel unreasonably close or when visibility around the vessel is obstructed, or swerving at the last possible moment to avoid collision is classified as reckless operation of a vessel (a first-degree misdemeanor). A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft in Florida. A person must be at least 18 years of age to rent a personal watercraft in Florida. It is unlawful for a person to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (a second-degree misdemeanor). Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 is required to either have successfully completed a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boating education course or have passed a course equivalency or temporary certificate examination and have in their possession a boating education ID card and a photo identification card before operating a vessel with a motor of 10 HP or more in Florida. Identification cards for persons completing the course or the equivalency exam are good for a lifetime. Temporary Certificate exams are made available to the public through contractors. The temporary certificate is valid for 12 months from the issue date.

Except in the event of an emergency, it is unlawful to moor or fasten to any lawfully placed navigation aid or regulatory maker.

Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boating safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. The following operators are exempt:

A person licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel. A person operating on a private lake or pond. An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is least 18 years old and possesses the required Boating Safety Education Identification Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel. An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel. A non-resident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a NASBLA-approved boater safety course or equivalency examination from another state. A person who is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel, provided they have available for inspection aboard that vessel, a bill of sale meeting all the requirements as established in Chapter 328.46(1), Florida Statutes. A person operating a vessel within 90 days after completing an approved boating safety course, as required in Chapter 327.395(1), and has a photographic I.D. and a boater education course completion certificate showing proof of having completed the required boating safety education course. The course completion certificate must provide the student’s first and last name, date of birth, and the date the course was successfully completed. (Effective Oct.1, 2011.)

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions, See also Boat Safety Equipment, The following regulations apply whenever someone is wholly or partially submerged and is using a face mask and snorkel or underwater breathing apparatus. A divers-down warning device may be a divers-down flag, buoy, or other similar warning device.

The divers-down warning device must contain a divers-down symbol. The symbol is a red rectangle or square with a white diagonal stripe. If the symbol is a rectangle, the length may not be less than the height or more than 25% longer than the height. The width of the stripe must be 25% of the height of the symbol. If multiple stripes are displayed, all of the stripes must be oriented in the same direction. The size of the divers-down symbol depends on whether the divers-down warning device is displayed from the water or from a vessel. On the water, the divers-down symbol must be at least 12 x 12 inches in size. On a vessel, the symbol must be at least 20 x 24 inches in size. When displayed on a boat, the divers-down warning device also must be displayed at the highest point of the vessel so that its visibility is not obstructed in any direction. Divers-Down Instructions If the divers-down warning device is a flag, the divers-down symbol must be on each face and have a wire stiffener or be otherwise constructed to ensure it remains fully unfurled and extended, even when there is no wind or breeze. If the divers-down symbol is a buoy, the buoy must have three or four sides with the divers-down symbol displayed on each of the flat sides. The buoy must be prominently visible on the water’s surface and can’t displayed on the vessel. Boaters must make reasonable efforts to stay at least 300 feet away from divers-down warning devices in open water and at least 100 feet away in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels. Boaters approaching divers-down warning devices closer than 300 feet in open water and 100 feet in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels must slow down to idle speed. Divers-must make a reasonable effort to stay within 100 feet of a divers-down flag or a buoy within rivers, inlets, or navigation channels and within 300 feet on open water. A divers-down warning device may not be displayed when divers are out of the water.

Except in the event of an emergency, it is unlawful for any person to anchor or operate a vessel in a manner that will unreasonably interfere with the navigation of other vessels

See also:  What Is The Romeo And Juliet Law In Florida?

The owner and/or operator of a vessel is responsible to carry, store, maintain and use the safety equipment required by the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG). All vessels are required to have onboard a wearable USCG-approved personal flotation device (PFD) for each person. The PFDs must be of the appropriate size for the intended wearer, be in serviceable condition, and within easy access. The state of Florida urges all people onboard a boat to wear a life jacket. Vessels 16 feet in length or longer must also have at least one USCG-approved throwable Type IV PFD that is immediately available in case of a fall overboard. A child under the age of 6 must wear a USCG-approved Type I, II or III personal flotation device while onboard a vessel under 26 feet in length while the vessel is underway. “Underway” is defined as anytime except when the vessel is anchored, moored, made fast to the shore or aground. Vessels with built-in fuel tanks or enclosed compartments where gasoline fumes can accumulate are required to carry at least one fire extinguisher (depending upon vessel length) which is approved for marine use. All vessels are required to carry an efficient sound-producing device, such as a referee’s whistle. Vessels less than 16 feet in length are required to carry at least 3 visual distress signals approved for nighttime use when on coastal waters from sunset to sunrise. Vessels 16 feet or longer must carry at least 3 daytime and three nighttime visual distress signals (or 3 combination daytime/nighttime signals) at all times when on coastal waters. The use of sirens or flashing, occulting or revolving lights is prohibited except where expressly allowed by law. Recreational vessels are required to display navigation lights between sunset and sunrise and during periods of reduced visibility (fog, rain, haze, etc.). The U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Rules specify lighting requirements for every description of watercraft.

No person may operate a monohull boat of less than 20 feet in length while exceeding the maximum weight, persons, or horsepower capacity as displayed on the manufacturer’s capacity plate.

The facility is prohibited from renting a vessel that does not have proper safety equipment, exceeds the recommended horsepower or load capacity, or is not seaworthy. The facility must provide pre-rental or pre-ride instruction on the safe operation of the vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or more. This instruction must include, at a minimum, operational characteristics of the vessel, safe operation and right-of-way, operator responsibilities and local waterway characteristics. The person delivering this information must have completed a NASBLA/state-approved boater safety course. All renters required by law to have a boater education ID card must have the card or its equivalent before the facility may rent to them. The livery must display boating safety information in a place visible to the renting public in accordance with FWC guidelines. PWC liveries must provide on-the-water demonstration and a check ride to evaluate the proficiency of renters. PWC liveries may not enter into rental agreement with anyone under the age of 18. PWC liveries must display safety information on the proper operation of a PWC. The information must include: propulsion, steering and stopping characteristics of jet pump vessels, the location and content of warning labels, how to re-board a PWC, the applicability of the Navigation Rules to PWC operation, problems with seeing and being seen by other boaters, reckless operation, and noise, nuisance and environmental concerns. Frequently Asked Questions

Vessels operating in Florida waters must comply with the U.S. Coast Guard requirements relating to marine sanitation devices, where applicable.

All vessels must be equipped with an effective muffling device. The use of cutouts is prohibited, except for vessels competing in a regatta or official boat race and such vessels while on trial runs.

Law enforcement officers of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, sheriffs’ deputies of the various counties, municipal police officers, and all other law enforcement officers, as defined in section 943.10, Florida Statutes, have the authority to order the removal or relocation of vessels deemed to be an interference with navigation or a hazard to public safety; to enforce all boating safety laws; and to conduct vessel inspections in accordance with state law. A law enforcement officer may stop any vessel to check for compliance with boating safety equipment and registration requirements and to conduct resource inspections in accordance with state law.

Manatees are protected by state and federal law. It is illegal to harass, hunt, capture or kill any marine mammal, including manatees. Anything that disrupts a manatee’s normal behavior is a violation of law, punishable under federal law up to a $50,000 fine, one-year imprisonment, or both. Boaters must observe all manatee protection zone requirements. Boaters who accidentally strike a manatee are urged to report the strike to the FWC and may not be subject to prosecution, provided they were operating in accordance with any applicable vessel speed restrictions at the time of the strike.

Seagrasses are the principal food for endangered marine herbivores such as manatees and green sea turtles, act as natural filters to help purify the water, and provide a suitable environment for a wide variety of marine life. Boaters should make all available attempts to avoid running through seagrass beds. Navigation charts identify seagrass beds as light green or marked as “grs” on the chart. Boaters should make all possible attempts to stay within channels when unfamiliar with a waterway. Avoid taking shortcuts through seagrass beds to avoid causing propeller scars. It is a violation of Florida law to damage seagrass beds in some areas within state waters.

How many feet clear of a divers-down flag on a river inlet or channel?

State law requires that scuba divers or snorkelers display a divers-down warning device whenever they are in the water. A divers-down warning device may not be displayed when divers are out of the water.

This warning device may be a divers-down flag, buoy, or other similar warning device. These devices are designed for, and used by, divers and dive vessels as a way to notify nearby boaters that divers are in the water in the immediate area. The device must be displayed prominently when in use. The divers-down warning device must meet these requirements.

If the divers-down warning device is a divers-down flag, the flag must:

Display the divers-down symbol on each face and Have a wire stiffener or be otherwise constructed to ensure it remains fully unfurled and extended, even when there is no wind or breeze.

If the divers-down warning device is a buoy, the buoy must:

Have three or four sides with the divers-down symbol displayed on each of the flat sides and Be prominently visible on the water’s surface and not displayed on the vessel.

Boaters must make reasonable efforts to stay at least 300 feet away from divers-down warning devices in open water and at least 100 feet away in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels. Boaters approaching divers-down warning devices closer than 300 feet in open water and 100 feet in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels must slow to idle speed.

Scuba divers or snorkelers should not place the warning device where it will obstruct traffic or create a hazard to navigation on a river, inlet, or navigation channel. In open waters, divers and snorkelers must make reasonable efforts to stay within 300 feet of their divers-down warning device; in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels, the distance from the device should be within 100 feet. Diver-Down Symbol: The divers-down warning device must contain a divers-down symbol.

The symbol is a red rectangle or square with a white diagonal stripe. If the symbol is rectangular, the length may not be less than the height or more than 25% longer than the height. The width of the stripe must be 25% of the height of the symbol. If multiple stripes are displayed, all of the stripes must be oriented in the same direction.

The size of the divers-down symbol depends on whether the divers-down warning device is displayed from the water or from a vessel.

On the water, the divers-down symbol must be at least 12 x 12 inches in size. On a vessel, the symbol must be at least 20 x 24 inches in size. The divers-down warning device also must be displayed at the highest point of a vessel so that its visibility is not obstructed in any direction.

Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

How many feet clear of a divers-down flag on a river inlet or channel is the operator of a vessel is required to stay?

Here is what you need to know about dive flags, whether you’re driving or diving. – See Photo Gallery In-water buoy with multi-sided “divers- down”symbol displayed. A flag, at least 20 by 24 inches with stiffener, is commonly used on a boat. May 19, 2022 Soon it’ll be time to dust off your flippers, check your masks for dry rot and your snorkels for leaks.

  1. You’ll also probably need to hit your dive flag with some bleach if it’s been sitting deep in a so-called dry storage compartment since last August.
  2. As for those of you for whom this doesn’t seem to apply, meaning you don’t dive, please don’t stop reading.
  3. This seminar is primarily for you.
  4. You simply won’t ever be able to forgive yourself if you run someone over,” warned Brian Rehwinkel, Boating Safety Coordinator with the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC).
See also:  Poem For Mother In Law Who Passed Away?

“A citation is one thing, having to live with knowing that you killed or dismembered someone is an altogether different thing.” Fortunately, not many divers do get run over, but incidents that occur tend to be very serious. Crippling or lethal injuries may result from propellor strikes. By Law, How Far Away Must A Vessel Stay From A Displayed Diver-Down Flag See Photo Gallery Know the rules of the road with respect to this potentially life-saving symbol. The answers I received indicate that we’re lucky people err on the side of caution with respect to the divers-down flag rules. People were close with their answers, but practically no one, PADI Instructors as well as charterboat captains, answered all three questions correctly.

Boaters must make reasonable efforts to stay at least 300 feet away from divers-down warning devices in open water and at least 100 feet away in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels. Boaters approaching divers-down warning devices closer than 300 feet in open water and 100 feet in rivers, inlets, or navigation channels must slow down to idle speed.Divers must stay within 100 feet of a divers-down flag or a buoy within rivers, inlets, or navigation channels and within 300 feet on open water.On a vessel, the divers-down flag must be at least 20 x 24 inches in size. And the flag must be displayed at the highest point of the vessel so that its visibility is not obstructed in any direction.On the water, the divers-down symbol must be at least a 12 x 12 inch flag on a float. If the divers-down symbol is a buoy, the buoy must have three or four sides with the divers-down symbol displayed on each of the flat sides. The buoy must be prominently visible on the water’s surface and can’t be displayed on the vessel.If the divers-down warning device is a flag, the divers-down symbol must be on each face and have a wire stiffener or be otherwise constructed to ensure it remains fully unfurled and extended, even when there is no wind or breeze.A divers-down warning device may not be displayed when divers are out of the water.

× Error code: A common misunderstanding in my survey pertained to diving marked channels. People can legally dive in marked channels. But as Rehwinkel pointed out, “Use your best judgment; if you don’t need to be in a channel, don’t dive in a channel.” Survey respondents were also unclear regarding the legal size of the flag, and whether it’s permissible to make your own.

  • You can, in fact, legally make your own flag, but you’ll have to get out your calculator.
  • Rob Murphy flies a 3 feet by 5 feet flag now.
  • But to do this, the flag must still be a red rectangle or square with a white diagonal stripe.
  • If the symbol is a rectangle, the length may not be less than the height or more than 25 percent longer than the height.

The width of the stripe must be 25 percent of the height of the symbol. The flag must also have a wire stiffener. And if you’re in the water, Rehwinkel recommended using a three-sided buoy instead of the 12 x 12 flag. As brought up in my FB post, it’s very hard to see the small buoy and flag on the water if you’re approaching the diver in the same direction as the wind.

What minimum distance must be maintained from a US vessel?

By Law, How Far Away Must A Vessel Stay From A Displayed Diver-Down Flag Recreational boaters have a role in keeping our waterways safe and secure.

Violators of the restrictions below can expect a quick and severe response.

Do not approach within 100 yards and slow to minimum speed within 500 yards of any U.S. Naval vessel. If you need to pass within 100 yards of a U.S. Naval vessel for safe passage, you must contact the U.S. Naval vessel or the USCG escort vessel on VHF-FM channel 16. Observe and avoid all security zones. Avoid commercial port operation areas, especially those that involve military, cruise line, or petroleum facilities. Observe and avoid other restricted areas near dams, power plants, etc. Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in the channel.

Keep a sharp eye out for anything that looks peculiar or out of the ordinary. Report all activities that seem suspicious to the local authorities, the USCG, or the port or marina security.

How do you use a diver-down flag?

Dear fellow divers, You learned that in your first certification class. The flag is on a float of some kind, and is attached to a line on a reel that a member of the dive group holds, or sometimes ties off during the dive. Use of a dive flag can be an inconvenience, but it is important because it lets boaters know to stay away (hopefully they will), lets others know where you are, and allows people on the surface to get your attention if there is a need to do so. By Law, How Far Away Must A Vessel Stay From A Displayed Diver-Down Flag If you tie off your flag, only tie it to dead things. Do not tie it off on a branch of living coral or to living plants. Find a rock, a dead coral head, or a post or mooring block, anything that is not living. And if you tie off your flag, stay in reasonable proximity to it so that it is performing its functions of marking your location and keeping boat hazards away from you.

Also remember to retrieve your flag and bring it in when you are finished at that site for the day. A dive flag left out in the water can be a hazard to navigation, to snorkelers, paddle boarders and other divers, and can give someone a false impression that there are missing or distressed divers in the water.

You don’t want to trigger a search for you and your buddy because your dive flag is out in the water and someone actually noticed it. It should go without saying ( but we’ll say it anyway) that if you come another diver’s flag, do not move it and do not take it or the line and reel to which it is attached. By Law, How Far Away Must A Vessel Stay From A Displayed Diver-Down Flag If you are thinking of diving without a flag, you are making a bad choice. In addition to the dangers apparent in not using one, many locations provide for a substantial fine if you are caught diving without one. Fines vary from $50.00 ( Florida) to up to $1000.00 (Hawaii.) Be safe, be legal, use a dive flag. Happy Diving everyone! The Scuba Snobs Divemaster Dennis / About Author

What are the 2 diver down flags?

Two Types of Diver Down Flags The most commonly used of the two is the diver down flag, which is a red flag with a white diagonal stripe. The alpha flag, which is internationally recognized, is a blue and white colored pennant tail flag.

Do I need a diver-down flag?

Description – A dive flag indicates that scuba divers are nearby. In some areas, flying a dive flag while scuba diving is required by law, but in general it’s a good idea for safety reasons. Dive boats fly a flag to let other vessels know that divers are below.

How far must a vessel stay away from a displayed diver-down flag quizlet?

Be sure you know what the ‘diver down’ flags look like. If you see either flag, keep at least 50 feet from the vessel and diving site, and move at a slow ‘no wake’ speed,

What does a driver down flag look like?

Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag, at least 15 x 15 inches, with a white diagonal stripe is used to indicate the presence of a submerged diver in the area.

What flag to be hoisted when you have a diver down and request to keep clear at slow speed?

Diver down flag Flag signal indicating divers are in the water nearby The (left) and red-and-white flag (right), both meaning “I have a diver down; keep well clear at slow speed” A diver down flag, or scuba flag, is a used on the water to indicate that there is a below.

Which flag should a boat engaged in driving operations fly?

Diver-down flags are used to indicate divers or snorkelers in the immediate area. When operating in an area where one of these flags is displayed, vessel operators should exercise caution. Scuba divers and snorkelers should not place a flag in an area already occupied by other boaters or where their diving operation will impede the normal flow of waterway traffic. Divers Flag: A rectangular red flag, at least 15 x 15 inches, with a white diagonal stripe, flown from a vessel or a buoy. Alfa Flag: A blue-and-white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels on federally controlled waters. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.