It Is Against Texas Law To Operate An Open Bed Truck When Anyone Younger Than?

It Is Against Texas Law To Operate An Open Bed Truck When Anyone Younger Than
Riding in Open Beds; Offense. (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer.

Is it an offence to ride in an open bed in Texas?

Texas Transportation Code – TRANSP § 545.414. Riding in Open Beds; Offense. Search Texas Statutes. (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer.

What is the penalty for operating an open bed pickup truck?

A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer. An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $200. It is a defense to prosecution under this section that the person was:

Can a child drive in the bed of a truck in Texas?

Laws Regarding Children Under 18 – Texas law makes it illegal to operate a vehicle with a child younger than 18 in the bed of a truck or on a trailer in almost all circumstances. There are only a few exceptions to this law, and they include:

Operating or towing the vehicle in a parade When an emergency makes operating or towing the vehicle necessary Transporting farm workers from one field to another on a farm-to-market or similar road, or on a county road outside a municipality Operating the vehicle on a beach Operating a vehicle that is the only vehicle owned or operated by the members of that household Operating the vehicle in a hayride permitted by the law enforcement agency of the county or municipality in which it occurs

In each of these cases, children under 18 may ride in the back of a pickup truck; however, it is still unsafe in some of these cases. The safest way to ride in a vehicle is always to ride in a seat with a seatbelt.

Can I ride in the back of a pickup truck bed?

What are Exceptions to the Rule for Children? – For those under 18, it’s generally not legal to ride in the back of a pickup truck bed. However, there are a few exceptions.

First of all, a true emergency situation is an exception to the rule. Additionally, if the vehicle is being used in an official parade capacity, it’s okay for people under the age of 18 to ride in the back. Also, if the vehicle is being used to transport farmworkers from one field to another on farm-to-market or similar country roads, that’s okay too. Another defensible situation involves driving on the beach. If this vehicle is the family’s sole mode of transportation for the household, it’s also accepted.

It’s important to point out that although under these certain specific circumstances, it’s technically legal to ride in the bed of a pickup truck, it’s still not safe. In all possible situations, no matter what age you are, choose to ride inside of a vehicle, where you have the safety of a seatbelt and steel cage surrounding you.

What are the laws for open bed pickup trucks in Texas?

(a) A person commits an offense if the person operates an open – bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer. (b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $200.

See also:  What Is Jungle Law?

Is it an offence to ride in an open bed in Texas?

Texas Transportation Code – TRANSP § 545.414. Riding in Open Beds; Offense. Search Texas Statutes. (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer.

Is it an offence to ride in the bed of a truck?

Relevant statutes: –

Child Passenger Safety Seat Systems Obtaining Child Passenger Safety Seat System Safety Belts Riding in Open Beds

Vernon’s Texas Statutes and Codes Annotated Transportation Code Texas Seatbelt Laws TRANSPORTATION CODE Chapter 545. Operation and Movement of Vehicles § 545.412. Child Passenger Safety Seat Systems; Offense. (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates a passenger vehicle, transports a child who is younger than eight years of age, unless the child is taller than four feet, nine inches, and does not keep the child secured during the operation of the vehicle in a child passenger safety seat system according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system.

  1. B) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 and not more than $250.
  2. B-1) (c) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that the person was operating the vehicle in an emergency or for a law enforcement purpose.
  3. D) (e) This section does not apply to a person: (1) operating a vehicle transporting passengers for hire, excluding third-party transport service providers when transporting clients pursuant to a contract to provide nonemergency Medicaid transportation; or (2) transporting a child in a vehicle in which all seating positions equipped with child passenger safety seat systems or safety belts are occupied.

(f) In this section: (1) “Child passenger safety seat system” means an infant or child passenger restraint system that meets the federal standards for crash-tested restraint systems as set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. (2) “Passenger vehicle” means a passenger car, light truck, sport utility vehicle, passenger van designed to transport 15 or fewer passengers, including the driver, truck, or truck tractor.

(3) “Safety belt” means a lap belt and any shoulder straps included as original equipment on or added to a vehicle. (4) “Secured,” in connection with use of a safety belt, means using the lap belt and any shoulder straps according to the instructions of: (A) the manufacturer of the vehicle, if the safety belt is original equipment; or (B) the manufacturer of the safety belt, if the safety belt has been added to the vehicle.

(g) A judge, acting under Article 45.0511, Code of Criminal Procedure, who elects to defer further proceedings and to place a defendant accused of a violation of this section on probation under that article, in lieu of requiring the defendant to complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency, shall require the defendant to attend and present proof that the defendant has successfully completed a specialized driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency under the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Act (Article 4413(29c), Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes) that includes four hours of instruction that encourages the use of child passenger safety seat systems and the wearing of seat belts and emphasizes: (1) the effectiveness of child passenger safety seat systems and seat belts in reducing the harm to children being transported in motor vehicles; and (2) the requirements of this section and the penalty for noncompliance.

  1. H) Notwithstanding Section 542.402(a), a municipality or county, at the end of the municipality’s or county’s fiscal year, shall send to the comptroller an amount equal to 50 percent of the fines collected by the municipality or the county for violations of this section.
  2. The comptroller shall deposit the amount received to the credit of the tertiary care fund for use by trauma centers.
See also:  Which Health Care Law Can Lead To Criminal Liability?

Chapter 545. Operation and Movement of Vehicles § 545.4121. Dismissal; Obtaining Child Passenger Safety Seat System. (a) This section applies to an offense committed under Section 545.412. (b) It is a defense to prosecution of an offense to which this section applies that the defendant provides to the court evidence satisfactory to the court that: (1) at the time of the offense: (A) the defendant was not arrested or issued a citation for violation of any other offense; (B) the defendant did not possess a child passenger safety seat system in the vehicle; and (C) the vehicle the defendant was operating was not involved in an accident; and (2) subsequent to the time of the offense, the defendant obtained an appropriate child passenger safety seat system for each child required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system under Section 545.412(a).

Chapter 545. Operation and Movement of Vehicles § 545.413. Safety Belts; Offense. (a) A person commits an offense if: (1) the person: (A) is at least 15 years of age; (B) is riding in a passenger vehicle while the vehicle is being operated; (C) is occupying a seat that is equipped with a safety belt; and (D) is not secured by a safety belt; or (2) as the operator of a school bus equipped with a safety belt for the operator’s seat, the person is not secured by the safety belt.

(b) A person commits an offense if the person: (1) operates a passenger vehicle that is equipped with safety belts; and (2) allows a child who is younger than 17 years of age and who is not required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system under Section 545.412(a) to ride in the vehicle without requiring the child to be secured by a safety belt, provided the child is occupying a seat that is equipped with a safety belt.

(b-1) A person commits an offense if the person allows a child who is younger than 17 years of age and who is not required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system under Section 545.412(a) to ride in a passenger van designed to transport 15 or fewer passengers, including the driver, without securing the child individually by a safety belt, if the child is occupying a seat that is equipped with a safety belt.

(c) A passenger vehicle or a seat in a passenger vehicle is considered to be equipped with a safety belt if the vehicle is required under Section 547.601 to be equipped with safety belts. (d) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $50.

An offense under Subsection (b) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200. (e) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that: (1) the person possesses a written statement from a licensed physician stating that for a medical reason the person should not wear a safety belt; (2) the person presents to the court, not later than the 10th day after the date of the offense, a statement from a licensed physician stating that for a medical reason the person should not wear a safety belt; (3) the person is employed by the United States Postal Service and performing a duty for that agency that requires the operator to service postal boxes from a vehicle or that requires frequent entry into and exit from a vehicle; (4) the person is engaged in the actual delivery of newspapers from a vehicle or is performing newspaper delivery duties that require frequent entry into and exit from a vehicle; (5) the person is employed by a public or private utility company and is engaged in the reading of meters or performing a similar duty for that company requiring the operator to frequently enter into and exit from a vehicle; (6) the person is operating a commercial vehicle registered as a farm vehicle under the provisions of Section 502.433 that does not have a gross weight, registered weight, or gross weight rating of 48,000 pounds or more; or (7) the person is the operator of or a passenger in a vehicle used exclusively to transport solid waste and performing duties that require frequent entry into and exit from the vehicle.

(f) The department shall develop and implement an educational program to encourage the wearing of safety belts and to emphasize: (1) the effectiveness of safety belts and other restraint devices in reducing the risk of harm to passengers in motor vehicles; and (2) the requirements of this section and the penalty for noncompliance.

Chapter 545. Operation and Movement of Vehicles § 545.414. Riding in Open Beds; Offense. (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer.

(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $200. (c) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that the person was: (1) operating or towing the vehicle in a parade or in an emergency; (2) operating the vehicle to transport farmworkers from one field to another field on a farm-to-market road, ranch-to-market road, or county road outside a municipality; (3) operating the vehicle on a beach; (4) operating a vehicle that is the only vehicle owned or operated by the members of a household; or (5) operating the vehicle in a hayride permitted by the governing body of or a law enforcement agency of each county or municipality in which the hayride will occur.

See also:  Who Is Justin Bieber'S Father In Law?

What are the penalties for open-bed trucking offenses?

(a) A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer. (b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $200.