What Is The Hands Free Ga Law?
- Marvin Harvey
Drivers cannot have a phone in their hand or touching any part of their body while talking on their phone while driving. Even with hands-free technology, drivers cannot write, read or send text messages, e-mails, social media content and other internet data while on the road. (Voice to text is allowed) Drivers cannot watch videos when they are on the road. (Navigational/GPS videos are allowed) Drivers cannot use their phones or electronic devices to record video when they are on the road. (Continuously running dash cams are allowed) Drivers may listen to streaming music that does not include videos on the screen of their phone or device while driving but cannot touch their phones while on the road to activate or program any music streaming app. Streaming music that is controlled by and listened through the vehicle’s radio is allowed. Drivers who need to touch their phones to activate/program their music streaming apps must do so before getting on the road The fine for a first conviction is $50.00 and 1 point assesed against the driver’s license. The fine is $100.00 and 2 points for a second conviction and $150.00 and 3 points for three or more conviction. The fines for a 2nd or 3rd offense only apply when date of a 2nd or 3rd conviction takes place within 24 months of the date of the first conviction. First time offenders can have the charge dropped by showing the court they have obtained a device that allows them to talk on a phone with hands-free technology or devices.
The Hands-Free Georgia Act was signed by Governor Nathan Deal on May 2, 2018, and will take effect on July 1, 2018. For more information on the law and FAQ, visit http://www.headsupgeorgia.com/handsfree-law/, Hands-Free Georgia Act Section 2. Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to motor vehicles and traffic, is amended by revising subparagraph (c)(1)(A) of Code Section 40-5-57, relating to suspension or revocation of license habitually negligent or dangerous driver and point system as follows: (xv) First violation of Code Section 40-6-241 (Hands-Free Georgia Act) 1 point (xvi) Second violation of Code Section 40-6-241 (Hands-Free Georgia Act) 2 points (xvii) Third violation of Code Section 40-6-241 (Hands-Free Georgia Act) 3 points Section 3.
Said title is further amended by revising subsections (d) and (e) of Code Section 40-6-165, relating to operation of school buses, as follows: “(d) The driver of a school bus shall not use or operate a wireless telecommunications device, as such as term is defined in Code Section 40-6-241, or two-way radio while loading or unloading passengers.
(e) The driver of a school bus shall not use or operate a wireless telecommunications device, as such term is defined in Code Section 40-6-241, while the bus is in motion, unless it is being used in a similar manner as a two-way radio to allow live communication between the driver and school officials or public safety officials.” Section 4.
- Said title is further amended by revising Code Section 40-6-241, relating to driver to exercise due care and proper use of radios and mobile telephones allowed as follows: “40-6-241.
- A) As used in this Code section, the term: (1) ‘Stand-alone electronic device’ means a device other than a wireless telecommunications device which stores audio or video data files to be retrieved on demand by a user.
(2) ‘Utility services’ means and includes electric, natural gas, water, waste-water, cable, telephone, or telecommunications services or the repair, location, relocation, improvement, or maintenance of utility poles, transmission structures, pipes, wires, fibers, cables, easements, rights of way, or associated infrastructure.
(3) ‘Wireless telecommunications device’ means a cellular telephone, a portable telephone, a text-messaging device, a personal digital assistant, a stand-alone computer, a global positioning system receiver, or substantially similar portable wireless device that is used to initiate or receive communication, information or data.
Such term shall not include a radio, citizens band radio, citizens band radio hybrid, commercial two-way radio communication device or its functional equivalent, subscription-based emergency communication device, prescribed medical device, amateur or ham radio device, or in-vehicle security, navigation, or remote diagnostics system.
- B) A driver shall exercise due care in operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state and shall not engage in any actions which shall distract such driver from the safe operation of such vehicle.
- C) While operating a motor vehicle on any highway of this state, no individual shall: (1) Physically hold or support, with any part of his or her body a: (A) Wireless telecommunications device, provided that such exclusion shall not prohibit the use of an earpierce, headphone device, or device worn on a wrist to conduct a voice-based communication (Smartphone watch); or (B) Stand-alone electronic device; (2) Write, send, or read any text-based communication, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, e-mail, or Internet data on a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device; provided, however, that such prohibition shall not apply to: (A) A voice based communication which is automatically converted by such device to be sent as a message in a written form; or (B) The use of such device for navigation of such vehicle for global positioning system purposes.
(3) Watch a video or movie on a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device other than watching data related to the navigation of such vehicle; or (4) Record or broadcast video on a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device; provided that such prohibition shall not apply to electronic devices used for the sole purpose of continuously recording or broadcasting video within or outside of the motor vehicle.
(d) While operating a commercial motor vehicle on any highway of this state, no individual shall: (1) Use more than a single button on a wireless telecommunications device to initiate or terminate a voice communication; or (2) Reach for a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device in such a manner that requires the driver to no longer be: (A) In a seated driving position; or (B) Properly restrained by a safety belt.
(e) Each violation of this Code section shall constitute a separate offense. (f) (1) Except as provide for in paragraph (2) of this subsection, any person convicted of violating this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor which shall be punished as follows: (A) For a first conviction with no conviction of and no plea of nolo contendere accepted to a charge of violating, this Code section within the previous 24 month period of time, as measured from the dates any previous convictions were obtained or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the date the current conviction is obtained or plea of nolo contendere is accepted, a fine of not more than $50.00, but the provisions of Chapter 11 of Title 17 and any other provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding, the costs of such prosecution shall not be taxed nor shall any additional penalty, fee, or surcharge to a fine for such offense be assessed against a person for conviction thereof; (B) For a second conviction within a 24-month period of time, as measured from the dates any previous convictions were obtained or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the date the current conviction is obtained or plea of nolo contendere is accepted, a fine of not more than $100.00, but the provisions of Chapter 11 of Title 17 and any provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding, the costs of such prosecution shall not be taxed nor shall any additional penalty, fee, or surcharge to a fine for such offense be assessed against a person for conviction thereof: (C) For a third or subsequent conviction within a 24-month period of time, as measured from the dates any previous convictions were obtained or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the date the current conviction is obtained or plea of nolo contendere is accepted, a fine of not more than $150.00, but the provisions of Chapter 11 of Title 17 and any other provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding, the costs of such prosecution shall not be taxed nor shall any additional penalty, fee, or surcharge to a fine for such offense be assessed against a person for conviction thereof.
(2) Any person appearing before a court for a first charge of violating paragraph (1) subsection (c) of the Code section who produces in court a device or proof of purchase of such device that would allow such person to comply with such paragraph in the future shall not be guilty of such offense. The court shall require the person to affirm that they have not previously utilized the privilege under this paragraph.
(g) Subsections (c) and (d) of this Code section shall not apply when the prohibited conduct occured: (1) While reporting a traffic accident, medical emergency, fire, an actual or potential criminal or delinquent act, or road condition that causes an immediate and serious traffic or safety hazard; (2) By an employee or contractor of a utility services provider acting within the scope of his or her employment while responding to a utility emergency.
What happens if you break the hands-free law in Georgia?
What Are the Penalties for Violating the Hands-Free Georgia Act? – Violating the Hands-Free Georgia Act comes with penalties. At first, the penalties may seem minor, but repeating the offense results in steeper penalties. You will be penalized one point on your license and a $50 fine if you are convicted once.
A second conviction will double the fine and the point penalty on your license. In your third conviction, you will pay $150, and the state will add three points to your license record. The second and subsequent conviction will occur if the offenses happen within two years of the first. For example, if you violate the law in 2021 and gain one point and a $50 fine and are convicted again in 2025, the first offense will not count, and the last one will count as the first one.
If you have several convictions within one year, your fines could escalate to $300 or more. Even worse, you may have your license suspended. Our Firm Stands Apart From The Rest Because We Make Clients Our Priority.
What is the GA move over law?
If you’re driving on a two-lane road and see emergency lights flashing up ahead, your first instinct is probably to slow down. But is your next step to move over into a lane further away? In most states across the country, including here in Georgia, it is the law for motorists to move over to make room for emergency vehicles, DOT workers, and police cars.
On a multi-lane road, motorists must move over at least one lane away from the emergency or maintenance crew when lights are flashing. On single-lane roads, motorists must slow down below the posted speed limit and be prepared to stop at any moment while passing a parked emergency vehicle.
Too many people have lost their lives here in Georgia after being struck by a vehicle during a traffic stop, emergency call, or while performing roadside maintenance. At iRideSafe™, we are committed to educating drivers and helping our public servants stay safe on the job! Our current laws extend to protect a variety of people, and you as a motorist must follow the Move Over Law when you see any emergency or maintenance vehicle with flashing red, yellow, amber, white, or blue lights stopped on the road or road shoulder, including:
Police cars Ambulance and paramedic vehicles Fire and rescue vehicles DOT maintenance trucks Wrecker and tow trucks
Roadside accidents or other distractions can be deadly for both the crew on the ground and any approaching vehicle. The Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety estimates that 30% of car crashes occur as a result of another crash, So, whether you see a crash up ahead, or you are looking at a crash you are passing, you are at heightened risk for your own crash.
- The Move Over law has been in effect in Georgia since 2003, and carries steep fines of up to $500 for motorists that are convicted, according to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety.
- Many roadside stops will have an enforcing police officer, prepared to give violators a hefty ticket, and probably a stern word or two.
After all, their friends and family in uniform have the most to lose. Want to improve your driving skills and safety? Check out all the great tips, videos, and handouts here at iRideSafe™ and keep yourself and others safe on the road. For more information regarding state laws in Georgia, click here: http://ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/bystate/ga.html View the Move Over Law brochure presented by the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety Additional Sources: American Safety Commission
What are the rules for hands-free phones?
Driving and using mobile devices Even using a hands-free option can incur penalties if your driving is deemed to be dangerous. The police have the right to stop you if they think you’re distracted and not in control of your vehicle, and you can be prosecuted.
Can you be prosecuted for using hands-free?
Mobile phone laws frequently asked questions –
- Is touching your phone while driving illegal? Current law forbids holding a mobile phone while driving. Although this could mean you can tap your screen when your phone is fixed on a mount, the police can charge you for driving without due care and attention or careless driving. Driving without due care and attention will result in a fixed-penalty notice (FPN), This usually means three points on your driving licence and a £100 fine, although some police forces may offer a driver education course as an alternative.
- Can I answer my phone while driving? It’s illegal to hold a phone while driving, but answering a phone call through a hands-free kit is permitted. Though the Commons Transport Committee want to introduce a blanket ban on hands-free devices, the government have said there are no plans to introduce such a measure.
- Can cameras catch you using a phone while driving? Cameras aren’t currently able to catch drivers using a phone while driving in the UK. However alternative technology can detect if a phone is making calls, sending and receiving text messages or using the internet. Hampshire Constabulary and Thames Valley police rolled out the sensor system in early 2019, The system cannot tell who is using the phone within a car, but can tell if it’s being used through the handset itself or a Bluetooth system. Our Report on Motoring 2020 found that 79% of drivers want to see cameras introduced to catch drivers using a handheld phone illegally.
- You are driving on a motorway and want to use your mobile phone – what should you do? If you find yourself on the motorway and want to use your mobile phone to make a call, you should use a hands-free kit. If you do not have a hands-free kit or wish to use features that aren’t voice-activated, you should wait until you’ve pulled over in a safe place and turned off your engine. A service station is likely to be your best option, as the hard shoulder should only be used for emergencies.
- What’s the mobile phone driving offence code? The endorsement code for using a mobile phone whilst driving is CU80. Being caught carries a penalty of six points and a £200 fine.
- Can you have your phone on speaker while driving? Using your phone’s speaker in a call is completely legal. Using your hands to answer the call however, could see you land a CU80 charge or a ‘breach of requirements as to control of the vehicle, such as using a mobile phone’.
- Can you use a mobile phone whilst driving on private property? Driving offences can only be enforced on those using a vehicle on public roads. The Road Traffic Regulations Act defines a road as “any length of highway or other road to which the public has access.”
- Is it illegal to have a phone on your dashboard? It isn’t illegal to have a phone on your dashboard, but you must ensure it doesn’t block your view of the road and traffic ahead. A windscreen mount or dashboard holder/mat offers hands-free access to your phone and is recommended by the government,
- Can you use your phone at a red light? As you are still in control of your car at a red light, the only way you can legally use a phone is with a hands-free kit. The same applies when queuing in traffic and supervising a learner driver from the passenger seat.
- How can I stay off my phone while driving? You can stay off your phone while driving in one of three ways:
- Switching it off: Turning your phone off cuts out any chance that you’ll be distracted by calls or notifications.
- Keeping it out of reach: Placing your phone in a bag or the glove compartment makes reaching for your phone impractical.
- Using apps/software: Using driving mode or ‘do not disturb’ can block incoming calls and texts for the duration of a journey. A number of apps are also available and even offer incentives for reduced phone use.
There are lots more tips on the RAC’s Be Phone Smart campaign website,
- When did it become illegal to use a mobile phone whilst driving? The first mobile phone driving laws were introduced in December 2003. From 2007 the penalty stood at three points on your licence and a £100 fine. In 2017 the penalty doubled, so now drivers will receive six points and have to pay a £200 fine.
- Is driving with Bluetooth legal? Driving with Bluetooth technology allows you to use your phone legally. It’s important that you pair your mobile with your car or device before starting your journey or while safely parked.
- Is it legal to use a hands-free mobile phone when driving? A hands-free kit is the only way motorists should use their phones to communicate while driving. There have been calls from MPs to ban the technology in cars, but as of November 2019, the Government has no intention of prohibiting them.
How much is a handsfree ticket in GA?
A first offense will cost you $50 and one point on your driver’s license (motorists who accumulate 15 points in a 24-month period lose their license).
When can you defend yourself in Georgia?
The danger to either himself or a third person must be imminent; and. He must reasonably believe that such force is necessary to prevent death or great bodily injury to self or a third person.
Is GA a stand your ground state?
Can I Legally Shoot an Intruder? – Can you shoot an intruder? Probably, but a prosecutor may argue otherwise. You may hear terms such as “The Castle Doctrine” and “Stand Your Ground”. Both of these doctrines respect the right of an individual to administer reasonable means for self-defense.
What is the new law about mobile phones in cars?
What is the new law on mobile phone use in cars? – As of March 25, 2022, all use of mobile phones while driving is banned. This means no handheld phone calls, no taking photos or videos, no scrolling, including playlists, and no playing games. New rules had to be brought in place as motorists could previously use the loop hole of not using their phone for “interactive communication”.
Is Bluetooth considered hands-free?
What is Considered a ‘Hands-Free Device?’ A hands-free device can be a Bluetooth earpiece, dashboard system installed in the vehicle itself, or a speakerphone feature on your phone.
Does speaker phone count as hands-free?
In the smartphone age, people are more connected than ever before, but also attempting to stay connected when they shouldn’t: behind the wheel. And it is not just cell phones. Distracted driving is anything that takes your eyes or mind off the road, or hands off the steering wheel – especially when texting or using your phone.
Using your cell phone while driving is not only dangerous, but also illegal. In California, you cannot use a cell phone or similar electronic communication device while holding it in your hand. You can only use it in a hands-free manner, such as speaker phone or voice commands, but never while holding it.
Any driver under the age of 18 is prohibited from using a cell phone for any reason. Because engaging in distracting behaviors with a phone like dialing, talking, or texting is so dangerous (it increases the risk of getting into a crash by three times), The California Office of Traffic Safety started the “Put Your Phone Down.
Just Drive” public awareness and education campaign. Like the “Silence the Distraction” campaign that started in 2015, it is intended to appeal to the smartphone culture and younger audiences – specifically those between the ages of 16 to 24. The youngest and most inexperienced drivers are most at risk when driving distracted.
The campaign emphasizes that all functions of a phone can be distracting: using an app, shuffling through music or playing videos, looking at social media, maps or photos. They are all dangerous and illegal when you are driving, and the safest thing drivers can do is put down the phone and just drive.
- And remember.
- Other serious driver distractions such as eating, grooming, reading, reaching for objects on the floor, changing clothes or talking with passengers are just as dangerous and can result in a “reckless driving” or “speed unsafe for conditions” ticket.
- The “Put Your Phone Down.
- Just Drive.” PSA, along with tips, facts and other information about distracted driving laws and prevention, can be found at gosafelyca.org,
Additional information, programs and resources on distracted driving:
OTS Distracted Driving Fact Sheet: For additional statistics and facts. National Safety Council: Studies and helpful reminders. Impact Teen Drivers: Helpful information for parents and teen drivers on distracted driving.
Can I use Google Maps while driving?
Find more actions while navigating – To find more actions while you’re navigating to a place, go to the information card at the bottom of the screen and swipe up. To hide the menu, swipe down on the information card.
- Share trip progress : Share your live location until you arrive.,
- Search along route : Find a place along your route, like a restaurant or petrol station.,
- Directions : Get a list of step-by-step directions.
- Show traffic on map (while Driving only): Find traffic delays along the way, such as crashes or roadworks.
- Show satellite map : Review the map in more detail, using satellite images.
- Settings : Change your settings, like switching between miles and kilometres or avoiding toll roads.
Can a passenger answer the phone in a car?
It is perfectly acceptable for passengers to use their mobile phone in the car, as long as they do not pass it to the driver or require the driver to touch the phone at any point.
What happens if I get caught on my phone while driving?
Using a mobile phone while driving: what’s the law? Want to know what the laws and penalties surrounding using a phone when driving are? Look no further Driving is a complicated business, requiring constant observation, decision making and reacting. Understandably, anything that takes your attention away from the job in hand is a bad idea, and one of the key culprits for this is the mobile phone.
Is driving with headphones illegal in Georgia?
The use of headphones while driving in Georgia is only legal when they do not impair the hearing or vision of the driver, and Georgia law specifically allows the use of communication devices such as Bluetooth.
What counts as defending yourself?
What is self-defence? – Self-defence is when a person acts – typically using physical force – in a manner intended to protect himself or herself against a threat. The threat may be real or perceived and may be the result of the person being on the receiving end of threatening behaviour. That threatening behaviour may be part of a crime, such as:
Abduction or kidnapping Assault or attempted assault Breaking and entering Rape, attempted rape, or sexual assault Robbery Trespassing
It is worth noting, however, that you do not have to be the victim, or the potential victim, of a crime for threatening behavior to exist. Perhaps you are out having a few drinks when someone takes a dislike to something you have said or done and asks you to step outside.
- What may begin as a minor disagreement or bar brawl due to one too many drinks, can quickly turn serious if someone gets hit the wrong way or hits their head on something.
- Another possible scenario is that you perceive danger and react in an effort to protect yourself.
- For instance, say that someone approaches your vehicle and you believe they have a weapon – and bad intentions – so you attempt to flee but in doing so, hit them with your car.
You perceived a threat and acted in self-defence, but will the court agree? They may. Self-defence is a fact-specific inquiry, and the court will consider the circumstances in which the incident occurred. It is crucial that you have a knowledgeable Edmonton criminal defence lawyer on your side who is experienced in handling self-defence claims.
Do you have to go to court for a hands-free ticket in Georgia?
Put Down Your Phone: New Georgia Law | Davis, Chapman, & Wilder, LLC In recent years, Georgia has seen an increase in accidents involving drivers under 25 years old, rear-end accidents, and single-vehicle accidents. In Georgia, over 70 drivers are hurt in accidents every hour.
In 2017 alone, Georgia saw 1,549 accident fatalities. Many of these accidents are caused by distracted drivers. As a result, Georgia enacted the Hands-Free Georgia Act. As attorneys in Augusta, Georgia, our lawyers handle the criminal defense of people charged with violating Georgia’s hands free law, and we represent people injured in car accidents that were a result of texting and driving.
When will law enforcement start enforcing the hands free law? Sometimes, a law is enacted on a certain day, but a grace period is provided before the law will be enforced. But for Georgia’s new hands free law, there is not a grace period for enforcement.
- The hands free law took effect on July 1, 2018, so Georgia drivers can expect a ticket if they’re using their phones while driving.
- Which states have banned cell phone use while driving? Georgia is the 16th state to enact a hands free law.
- California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, and West Virginia have all banned drivers from using cellphones while driving.
Do I have to buy a hands free device? Under Georgia law, you are not required to purchase a hands free device so you don’t have to run out and buy a mount today. If you do not have a hands free device, you can simply leave your phone on the passenger seat, on the console, in the armrest, or in the pocket of the driver’s door.
Just to be on the safe side, we recommend that you use a bluetooth device, headset, or phone mount while driving. Can I listen to Spotify, Pandora, Apple Music, or other music apps while driving? Yes, drivers can still use their phones or other devices to play music while driving, as long as they do not touch their devices to open an app or change the song.
Even if you are temporarily stopped at a traffic light or stop sign, you cannot touch your phone or device. If you don’t have a good playlist, now is the time to make one. Otherwise, unless your device is controlled by the car’s radio, you might have to pull over and park to select a new song or station.
- Eep in mind that drivers may not use video apps like YouTube to play music because the hands free law prohibits drivers from watching or streaming videos while driving.
- Can I use an iPod, tablet, iPad, or deactivated cell phone while driving? Georgia’s hands free law prohibits the use of all wireless communication devices and stand alone electronic devices.
Generally, when we think of wireless communication devices, we think of our cellphones. However, the law also prohibits the use of iPads, iPods, tablets, computers, mp3 players, and gps devices. Can I hold my phone in my hand while driving if I’m not using it? As the name of the law implies, drivers may not hold their phones in hand while driving.
This is the case even if drivers are not actively using their phones. In fact, drivers cannot hold or support phones or other electronic devices with any part of the body. Can I talk on the phone while driving? Yes. Drivers may use headsets, bluetooth devices, earpieces, or watches to talk on the phone.
Drivers may also touch their phones to answer or end a call or to dial a number as long as the driver is not holding or supporting the phone. However, Georgia drivers may not use electronic devices or phones to write, send, read, or record except when when using voice-to-text functions to control vehicle navigation.
While drivers may use headsets to talk on the phone, they cannot use them to listen to music or other audio while driving. How is Georgia’s texting and driving law different from Georgia’s hands free law? Georgia’s previous texting and driving law, which was enacted in 2010, prevented distracted driving by prohibiting drivers from reading or sending texts and emails while driving.
However, in 2018, Georgia lawmakers decided that enforcing the texting and driving law was too difficult because law enforcement officers had trouble determining whether drivers were unlawfully texting. As a result, Georgia enacted a new hands free law that prohibits drivers from holding their phones and other stand-alone electronic devices.
Can I use my cell phone or tablet while stopped at a traffic light? Temporarily stopping at a traffic light or stop sign will not suffice under Georgia’s new hands free law. Drivers may not use their devices unless they are completely parked. Drivers may use their devices if they are reporting an emergency, accident, or acting as an emergency responder.
What are the penalties for violating Georgia’s hands free law? If you are charged with violating Georgia’s hands free law for the first time, you will likely be assessed a $50 fine, and one point could be added to your driver’s license. On the first offense, in certain circumstances, the court may dismiss the ticket if you show proof that you’ve purchased a hands free device.
On the second conviction, you can be fined up to $100, and two points could go on your license. On the third conviction and any convictions thereafter, you can be fined up to $150, and 3 points could be added to your license. Drivers should remember that points on your license could mean higher insurance rates.
Accumulating 15 points on your license in a two year period could result in a suspension of your right to drive. Does the hands free law apply to commercial drivers? Commercial drivers must be properly licensed and in operation of a commercial vehicle.
- Commercial drivers may use one button to begin or end a phone call.
- Commercial drivers are prohibited from reaching for their phones or devices if doing so requires them to be improperly restrained by a seat belt or requires the driver to no longer be seated in the proper position.
- How does the hands free law apply to school bus drivers? School bus drivers are highly trained and tested because they have the important job of transporting and protecting children.
School bus drivers are prohibited from using two-way radios or wireless telecommunication devices while loading or unloading passengers. Drivers are permitted to use wireless telecommunication devices while the bus in in motion to allow live communication between the driver and the school and/or public safety officials.
Dialing a phone number Starting and ending a call Talking on speakerphone Wearing a headset to talk on the phone Use of bluetooth device or Bluetooth through the vehicle Smartwatch phone calls GPS/Navigation with voice Filming with mounted dash cam Setting up music apps while parked Calling 911 or otherwise reporting an incident to emergency personnel
Texting or emailing from any device Holding a phone or other electronic device using any part of the body Listening to music through a headset or earpiece Scrolling Social media Adjusting music apps with your hands Viewing the internet Watching videos Recording a video Video calls (FaceTime, Skype, etc)
If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident caused by a distracted driver or has been charged with violating Georgia’s hands free law, contact the lawyers at Davis, Chapman, & Wilder, LLC for a complimentary case evaluation. : Put Down Your Phone: New Georgia Law | Davis, Chapman, & Wilder, LLC
Is Georgia a hold your ground state?
Georgia Law – Georgia has a stand your ground law which removes the duty to retreat before using force in self defense or in defense of another.2