What Is The Lemon Law In Massachusetts?
- Marvin Harvey
New Car Lemon Law
The Lemon Law protects you if the new car you bought through a Massachusetts dealer has serious defects. A vehicle is considered a lemon if it has a substantial defect that impairs your safety or your ability to drive it, or impacts its market value and the car has not been repaired after a reasonable number of attempts.
What is covered under Massachusetts lemon law?
What is the Used Car Lemon Law? – Under the Massachusetts Lemon Laws, you may be eligible for compensation for your used vehicle if it has at least one qualifying defect that impairs its use or safety. The car must have been purchased from a Massachusetts dealer and be used for personal or family purposes (i.e.
- Not used primarily for business).
- In Massachusetts, a dealer is defined as someone who sells more than 3 cars in a 12-month period, even if they do not have a valid used car dealer license.
- Remember, the law doesn’t cover all vehicles or all defects, and there are steps and eligibility requirements that you must meet.
If your attempts to receive compensation aren’t successful, Lemon Law arbitration is available through the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation.
How long do you have for the lemon law in Massachusetts?
TIME PERIOD FOR FILING CLAIMS A claim must be submitted within 18 months from the date of the vehicle’s original delivery to the consumer.
How many days do you have to return a used car in Massachusetts?
ELIGIBILITY AND WARRANTIES – To be covered by the used car law, you must have:
bought the car from a dealer or private party in Massachusetts bought the car from a Massachusetts dealer for more than $700.00, or bought the car from a Massachusetts dealer, and it had less than 125,000 miles on it.
If your warranty is unknown, the law determines coverage by your car’s age:
Less than 40,000 miles: Warranty period is 90 days or 3,750 miles. 40,000 to 79,999 miles: Warranty period is 60 days or 2,500 miles. 80,000 to 124,999 miles: Warranty period is 30 days or 1,250 miles. 125,000 miles and more: There is no warranty period.
A private party doesn’t need to give you a warranty, but they do have to tell you about any defects before you buy the car. If they don’t tell you about a known problem, you have 30 days to cancel the sale and get your money back. You’re also protected under the Massachusetts Inspection law.
Still have questions? Contact:
Why is it called Lemon Law?
Key Takeaways –
Lemon laws have been enacted in every U.S. state and the District of Columbia as well as at the federal level to protect consumers from manufacturers who intentionally sell defective or poor quality products.The kinds of goods lemon laws cover and how far consumers are protected depends on the jurisdiction of the law, but the term “lemon law” originally referred to defective automobiles that were called lemons.Lemon laws are generally used to legally hold manufacturers to reasonable implementation of their warranties.
Does Massachusetts require vehicle inspection?
All vehicles registered in Massachusetts must pass a yearly vehicle inspection.
What is the Lemon Law in how I met your mother?
”Um. Why is Jon Cryer in NPH’s spot?” says commenter MKS. ”How can the Emmys ignore Barney’s tear-jerking yet touchingly funny journey with his reunion How I Met Your Mother is known for many things: A sweet love story, a surprisingly heavy mythology for a comedy, an episode structure that gives fans one tiny morsel of information about twice a year, etc. But one of the most enjoyable aspects about the long-running comedy is its ability to coin catchphrases that speak to some real issues in the modern world.
I mean, how would we solve disputes without Slap Bets? (Relax. Rhetorical question. You shouldn’t slap people in the face.) Below are 11 of our favorite phrases the show has introduced over its nine seasons. Which ones have worked their way into general pop culture, and which aren’t as obvious to people who haven’t had a Monday night date with CBS? Check out guesses from an EW staffer (Denise Warner) who has never watched the show, then find out the real answers — and tell us your personal favorite HIMYM -isms (ideally while using the term “lawyer’d”).1.) What’s a Slap Bet? Newbie guess: Okay, I THINK I know this one, maybe.
Jason Segel and Neil Patrick Harris had a bet, and whoever won got to slap the other five times? And Jason won, and so he administered each slap when NPH wasn’t expecting it? There was an episode called “Slapsgiving”! (Possibly?) Actual answer: Wow, you’re basically right.
A Slap Bet is exactly what it sounds like: You bet on something, and if you’re wrong, the other person gets to slap you however many times you agreed upon. (Another person, a Slap Bet Commissioner, oversees.) 2.) What does being “on the hook” mean? Newbie guess: That’s a thing! It means you’re responsible for something.
Actual answer: True, but on the show, it’s used to reference a relationship between two people — person A is infatuated with person B, person B likes being adored, but isn’t ever going to date them. Person A is “on the hook.” 3.) What’s the Dobler-Dahmer Theory? Newbie guess: Something to do with Say Anything and Jeffrey Dahmer? So, if you want to sleep with them, they are a Dobler.
- If you don’t want to sleep with them, a Dahmer? Although that seems harsh.
- Actual answer: Mostly correct! I’m just going to let Ted explain this: 4.) What’s the Lemon Law? Newbie guess: Isn’t the Lemon Law in effect to protect people who buy cars that are lemons? That is — new cars that don’t work and can’t really be fixed.
Actual answer: Conceived by Barney, it’s a rule introduced to avoid spending too long on a date that is going nowhere. The Lemon Law entitles either party on a date to call off the date within the first five minutes with no repercussions or hard feelings.
Just cite Lemon Law and you’re out. I wish this was a real thing.5.) What’s the Mermaid Theory? Newbie guess: The Mermaid Theory is the idea that you can get a guy to fall in love with you, even though you’ve lost your voice. Actual answer: No. It’s the theory that single men and married women can’t really be friends, because eventually, the guy will find her attractive (a.k.a.
see her as a mermaid). Take it away, Barney: 6.) What does doing “The Naked Man” mean? Newbie guess: The running man dance — without clothes. Actual answer: After an “eh” date, convince the other person to allow you to go up to their apartment. When they’re in another room, get totally naked.
- When they come back, they’ll be so shocked/amused they’ll hook up with you.
- Works two out of every three times.7.) What does “Eating a Sandwich” mean? Newbie guess: Is this a trick question? Actual answer : Smoking pot! It’s a cleaned-up euphemism because Ted is telling his kids this story (even though this is FAR from the most inappropriate thing he’s shared with his offspring).8.) What is Dowisetrepla? Newbie guess: That’s not a word.
Actual answer: Down Wind from The Sewage Treatment Plant — a.k.a. a New York City neighborhood where you don’t want to live.9.) What is a Sexless Innkeeper? Newbie guess: A hotel owner who doesn’t let people have sex in the rooms, because he isn’t getting any.
- Actual answer: Barney has a poem for this.10.) What is a Cockamouse? Newbie guess: When a rooster and a mouse mate, their offspring make this sound.
- Actual answer: A hybrid creature that Marshall finds in the apartment.
- Bonus: It can fly! 11.) What is The Mosby? Newbie guess: When you spend nine years telling your kids the story of how he met their mother, only you sound like Bob Saget.
Actual answer: Ted Mosby loves LOVE (probably to a creepy extent). To “Mosby” someone is to freak someone out by revealing way-too-strong feelings way too soon. Thanks for the vocab lesson, How I Met Your Mother ! What are your favorite HIMYM phrases?
Does Massachusetts have a buyers remorse law?
A Massachusetts Consumer Guide to Shopping Rights An official website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Here’s how you know
Official websites use,mass.gov A,mass.gov website belongs to an official government organization in Massachusetts. Secure websites use HTTPS certificate A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the official website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
It’s illegal for a salesperson to make false or misleading statements about a product or a service or withhold any information about it in an attempt to convince you to buy it, to sell merchandise “as is”, to try to pass a used product off as a new one, or for them to try to sell an item using what is referred to as a “Bait & Switch” tactic. Bait & Switch occurs when a salesperson:
Refuses to sell a product they advertised and makes claims about its quality or the offer to dissuade you from wanting to buy it; Claims they have sold out of the product (and did not note that supplies are limited in their advertisement);or Refuses to deliver the item within a reasonable period of time.
Most of the products for sale within a retail store must be price marked. The cost of a service, such as make-up application or clothes tailoring, must be displayed or discussed before you agree to it. Did you know?:
The salesperson cannot misrepresent the price or claim that it is reduced or offered for a limited time only, if it’s untrue The store must honor the price in the advertisement, even if it is wrong, until they correct the misrepresentation using the same advertising medium and/or by corrective signs in the store.
Grocery Item Pricing Food retailers offer sale and discounted prices on particular items for a short period of time. Sometimes discounted prices and signs are not removed after the sale ends. To protect consumers and encourage retailers to keep a close eye on their item pricing, Massachusetts law states that a food store or food department may be fined $100.00 for any item that scans higher than the lowest advertised, marked or shelf tag price.
Although there are a number of exemptions from having a price label on each individual item, stores can also be fined for every missing shelf price tag. For more information about Massachusetts item pricing law, please visit M.G.L. Chapter 94, Section 184,, and, Note: Item pricing in retail stores is different than in grocery stores.
See below for additional information. Price Accuracy Guarantees The Massachusetts Item Pricing Law requires food and grocery stores to individually price mark most items with the actual selling price, unless an in-aisle electronic price scanner system is available or the items are located in end-aisle or freestanding displays.
- Certain quick-selling items, such as gallons and half-gallons of milk, eggs, vegetables and fruit, and greeting cards are exempt and don’t need to be individually priced.
- Items sold in a grocery store must ring up at the lowest displayed price.
- Food stores that are in the waiver program must offer consumers one of the items free if it scans higher than the lowest advertised price.
Price accuracy guarantees are required to be posted at each checkout lane. To determine whether a store has signed the waiver contact the (DOS): (617) 727-3480, Stores not in the waiver program have to have every item in the store priced (with some exceptions).
- In these stores, items that ring up wrong have to be given for the correct price.
- So any overcharge has to refunded immediately.
- Non-Grocery Retail Store The, 940 C.M.R.3.13, applies to non-grocery stores or to the non-grocery items of a mixed-product retailer.
- If you would like to file a complaint you may do so or contact the Attorney General’s Consumer Advocacy and Response Division (CARD): (617) 727-8400,
Contrary to popular belief, there is no set law about return policies in Massachusetts. As long as a product is not defective, a store can have any return policy they want so long as it is clearly disclosed somewhere in the store and you have a chance to read it before buying your product.
A salesperson cannot misrepresent the store’s return policy in order to convince you to buy an item or fail to honor it should you wish to return it during the disclosed return period. When a store issues a merchandise credit for returned goods, you have at least seven years from the date of issue to redeem the credit. “Cooling-off periods” exist only in certain, limited situations. Many consumers mistakenly believe that after they purchase a product they have a “cooling-off period” during which they can cancel the contract or return an item.
When is the cooling-off period allowed? Door-to-Door Sales: If you make a purchase for over $25 at a place other than a merchant’s usual place of business, Massachusetts and federal law allows you three days to cancel and get your money back. You must notify the seller in writing within three business days of signing the contract and must allow the seller to pick up the goods at your house, or agree to ship the items back to the seller at no cost to you.
- If the seller does not pick up the goods within 20 days of the notice of cancellation, then you may keep or dispose of them as you wish.
- Credit Repair and Services Organizations: You may cancel a contract for credit repair and services until midnight of the third business day after signing it.
- Your payment will be returned within 10 days of the organization receiving your cancellation notice.
Gym or Health Club memberships: Consumers have three business days to cancel a health club contract no matter where it was signed. Cancellation must be done by written notice and your money must be refunded within 15 days. (Health spas, sports clubs, weight control centers, and martial arts schools are all considered health clubs.) Time Shares: To cancel a time share contract, notify the seller of your intent to cancel no later than three business days after signing the contract.
Sale : For the term “sale” to be used in an ad when the actual savings are not stated, the law requires the savings to be at least 10% for items regularly priced $200 or less, and at least 5% for items over $200. If you buy an item at the regular price and it goes on sale soon after, there is no law requiring the store to refund the difference in price. However, many stores will give you a refund out of good will. Rain Check: A store that has run out of an advertised special must allow you to buy the product at the advertised price when it is in stock again, unless specified in the ad that quantities may be limited or unless the demand was more than could reasonably have been anticipated. The store can also offer a comparable substitute for the out of stock item. Layaway: A store must disclose its policy on layaway plans, including cancellation and return (or non-return) of payments already made. Merchants cannot change the price of merchandise by increasing payments or by substituting lower priced merchandise. Warranty: In Massachusetts, all goods are covered by an implied warranty of merchantability, meaning the item must reasonably conform to an ordinary buyer’s expectation for a reasonable amount of time. A toaster that does not toast would not conform to this warranty and would be eligible for a repair, refund, or replacement. Remember, warranties don’t exist if you buy a product anywhere other than a store (For example, a computer purchased from a restaurant that does not usually sell computers will not have this implied warranty).
A warranty is a two-part pledge. First, it promises that the merchandise sold is as represented. Second, it promises that you will receive repairs, a replacement, or a refund if it is not the quality or condition represented. There are two types of warranties: express and implied.
- Express Warranty: Sellers create an express warranty when they make a promise, show a sample or model, or describe goods to you.
- Express warranties can be oral or written, but you should try to get all promises in writing for your protection.
- Implied Warranty of Merchantability: Under the implied warranty of merchantability, the merchandise must do what it was designed to do with reasonable safety, efficiency and ease, and for at least a reasonable period of time.
Every item sold by a merchant in Massachusetts automatically comes with the implied warranty of merchantability. Keep in mind however, that there is no warranty of merchantability if the seller is not a merchant or if the seller is a merchant but does not ordinarily sell goods of that kind.
Implied Warranty of Fitness for a Particular Purpose : The implied warranty of fitness for a particular purpose arises when all three of the following conditions are met: 1) the seller has reason to know your particular purpose for buying a product; 2) you rely on the seller’s skill or judgment in selecting or providing a product to meet that purpose; 3) the seller has reason to know that you are relying on his/her skill and judgment.
The Federal Trade Commission Mail Order Rule governs delivery laws in Massachusetts,
A company must ship your order within the time period promised in its advertisements. If the company does not promise a specific time, the company must ship your order within 30 days of receiving your completed order, unless you have agreed to a delay in shipment. If you pay by charge or credit card, the time period begins on the date that the seller charges the merchandise to your account. However, if you are applying for credit to pay for your purchase (either opening a line of credit or extending existing credit), the company had 50 days after receiving your order to ship the merchandise. If the seller does not send your order when promised, and you have not agreed to a new shipping date, you can cancel your order and get a refund. The Mail Order Rule does not apply to: photo finishing, magazine subscriptions (except for the first issue), C.O.D orders, seeds and plants, and credit orders where your account is not charged until after the goods are shipped.
If you find an error on your credit or charge card statement, you may dispute the charge and withhold payment on the disputed amount while the credit card company investigates. How do you dispute a charge? Step 1: Send a written billing error notice to the creditor.
Step 2: The creditor must acknowledge your complaint in writing within 30 days after it is received, unless the problem is resolved within that period.Step 3: Within two billing cycles (but not more than 90 days), the creditor must conduct a reasonable investigation and either correct the mistake or explain why the bill is believed to be correct.You also may dispute charges for unsatisfactory goods or services purchased with a credit or charge card.
You must first attempt to resolve the dispute with the seller. You must have bought the item in your home state or within 100 miles of your current mailing address, and the charge must be for more than $50. These limitations do not apply if the seller is also the card issuer or if a special relationship exists between the card issuer and the seller.
If you receive merchandise you didn’t order or request, it’s yours to keep, so long as it clearly isn’t a delivery error (ie: it’s your neighbor’s package). Although you are not legally obligated, you may wish to notify the sender that you intend to keep the merchandise as a gift to avoid possible problems, such as the sender trying to bill you for the merchandise. Gift cards purchased in Massachusetts are good for seven years and are not subject to any fees, including dormancy fees, as long as they are not backed by a federal bank (Visa or American Express gift cards are exempt from this rule.) Once you have used 90% of the cards’ value, you may spend it or choose to take the remaining value in cash. Gift Certificates must be clearly marked with an expiration date and issuance date, or have the dates available online or printed on the sales receipt. If the dates are not provided, the Gift Certificate is good forever. Massachusetts limits the amount of information merchants can require for check cashing and credit card purchases. For credit card purchases, a merchant is not allowed to ask for your address, telephone number, or social security number. For check purposes, merchants may only record your name, address, and driver’s license or state ID card, and telephone number. The merchant can ask to see a credit card but cannot write down the credit card number.
New and used vehicle purchases are eligible for a refund or repair if they meet certain criteria. : A Massachusetts Consumer Guide to Shopping Rights
What are my rights when returning a used car?
If you buy a new or used car from a dealer and have problems with it, you have some statutory rights under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, The Act states the car must be “of a satisfactory quality”, “fit for purpose” and “as described”. (For a used car, “satisfactory quality” takes into account the car’s age and mileage.) You have a right to reject something faulty and you’re entitled to a full refund within 30 days of purchase in most cases.
After 30 days, you lose the short-term right to reject the goods. You’ll also have fewer rights, such as only being able to ask for a repair or replacement, or a partial refund. In fact, you’re legally allowed to return it up to six years after you bought it (in Scotland, it’s five years after you first realised there was a problem).
But it gets more difficult to prove a fault and not normal wear and tear is the cause of any problem. Just because you didn’t buy your car new, doesn’t mean you don’t have rights if something goes wrong. You might still have a legal right to compensation.
when and where you bought it what the exact problem is whether you knew there was a problem when you bought it. This might be a repair, an amount of money to cover the cost of a repair, or a full or partial refund of the money you spent.
Citizens Advice have a tool that tells you what your consumer rights are. All you need is the date you bought your car and whether it was a private sale or bought through a trade seller. The vehicle should be of satisfactory quality, fit for its purpose and as described.
With hire purchase, it’s the finance provider, rather than the dealer, who’s legally responsible if there are problems with the car. If you paid all or part of the cost of your car by credit card, the card company and the trader might be jointly responsible for compensating you under Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act 1974.
Your purchase won’t be covered by Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act. But you might be able to claim a refund from your debit card provider through a voluntary scheme known as ‘chargeback’. Visa, MasterCard, Maestro and American Express are among the companies signed up to chargeback.
- Depending on the card you used, you’ll probably need to make your claim within 120 days of noticing the problem.
- Chargeback claims can take some time to process because the card company has to get the money refunded before they can pass it on to you.
- Buying privately is one of the riskiest ways of buying a car.
If something goes wrong with it you don’t have as much legal protection as you would if you’d bought the car from a dealer. The car must match the seller’s description, be roadworthy and the seller must have the legal right to sell it to you. In other words, the car must work, meet the legal requirements for being driven on public roads, and be owned by the seller.
But you’re responsible for ensuring the car is “of satisfactory quality” and “fit for purpose” before you buy it. Watch out for any unscrupulous sellers pretending to be private owners so they can offload faulty or stolen cars. With online auctions, your legal rights depend on whether the seller is a private individual or a car dealer.
If the seller is a private individual, the car only needs to be as described – so it’s a case of ‘buyer beware’. Your legal rights are the same as if you were buying from them in person (see ‘Problems with used cars bought privately’ above). If the seller is a dealer, you’ll be protected by the Sale of Goods Act if you find the car isn’t of satisfactory quality, fit for purpose or as described.
Can you return a car to a dealership in Massachusetts?
Can you return a car in Massachusetts? I just bought a pick-up truck last week from a dealership in Plymouth, but it’s starting to make some suspicious noises. Would I be able to return a car to a dealership in Massachusetts? That’s such a bummer! You might be able to return a car in in certain cases.
If you purchased a new car and it has at least one defect that impairs its safety, value, or use, it falls under, If you bought a and the seller didn’t tell you about a known problem, you have 30 days to cancel the sale and get a refund.
When looking to buy a used car, it’s crucial to examine it before signing the paperwork. Here’s a brief checklist:
Check over the Thoroughly inspect the vehicle —inside and outTake the car for a test drive Request to see the maintenance records Look into the of the vehicle
These steps can help you prevent and complicated return processes. One decision you aren’t likely to regret is finding a more affordable policy with, Jerry is a and licensed broker, partnering with more than 50 top providers to find you the best policy options available.
- Just download the app, sign up, and see your cheapest rates in 45 seconds.
- WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents.
- We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
: Can you return a car in Massachusetts?
What happens if my car can’t be fixed?
Many consumers are baffled by the indifference they encounter from dealers who are unable to repair new cars under warranty. Buyers spend a ton of money on a new car–and are treated like royalty during the buying process–but once they show up in the service department? It seems the dealer doesn’t seem to care when the recurring problem cannot be pinpointed or repaired.
I’ve spoken to countless consumers who were surprised by the Jekyll/Hyde difference between the front of the dealership and the back. But there is a very real reason why dealers seem to give up on the troublesome cars. It is a result of Lemon Law. All 50 states have some form of Lemon Law which mandates that manufacturers must buy back or replace fatally flawed cars.
That is, the cars that cannot be repaired after a certain number of repair attempts or days in the shop. This is often four times OR 30 days in the first year. But the part of that sentence that causes the phenomenon described in the first paragraph is the word “manufacturers.” Everyone knows the cars are built by car companies and sold by car dealers.
Those dealers are independent of the manufacturer (although Tesla, is trying to upend this). So when the dealer sells the consumer a car, they tell the consumer that the car can be brought to the dealer for warranty repairs and service. But repeated warranty repairs? There is an inverse relationship between the number of repair attempts made by the dealer and how much the dealer actually cares any more if the car is fixed.
Part of it–I’ve been told–is that some manufacturers skimp on paying warranty claims for the repeat offender. Either because the work is obviously not being done properly OR the work is futile in the first place. Either way, bring your Ford dual clutch transmission-equipped vehicle to a Ford dealer for its third repair attempt and watch as service writers scatter to the four corners of the lot to avoid dealing with you.
But there is an even more obvious reason that dealers lose interest in the defective cars that return again and again: The MANUFACTURERS are the ones who have to give the remedy under the Lemon Law. The dealer has no skin in the game (except for goodwill, which they probably have lost anyway after selling you the defect-laden vehicle).
Since the manufacturer has to buy the car back or replace it, the dealer has zero incentive to step up and do anything for you. Except do another warranty repair, which has already failed a handful of times, and that’s assuming the manufacturer will even authorize another bite at this apple.
This odd set of facts and circumstances can lead to some interesting and comical results. More than once I’ve been told, “My service writer told me to file a Lemon Law lawsuit over this car.” I’ve even had a service writer ask me for a stack of my business cards and ask if I minded him handing them to customers who owned a particular make and model of car he was sick of trying to pretend to fix.
You really can’t blame the dealers who tell the customers to go ahead and pursue the Lemon Law. If the facts warrant it, the legal route is probably the quickest “fix” for that horribly defective new car and the service writers know it. Steve Lehto is a writer and attorney from Michigan.
How does a vehicle become a lemon?
In most states, for a car to qualify as a lemon, the car must have a significant defect that is covered by the warranty. It also must have occurred within a specified period, either in time or miles, from when you purchased the vehicle. Also, it must still not be fixed after a reasonable number of attempts to do so.
Can I return a financed car if it has problems?
Can you return a new car if there’s something wrong with it? Yes — most states have lemon laws to protect consumers if their newly purchased car has unforeseen mechanical issues. You may also be able to return a vehicle if your lender didn’t approve a loan or the salesperson was dishonest.
Can you get your money back on a used car?
Your car payments are too high – If you want to return your car because your monthly car payments are too high, you’ll have a more difficult time making the case to return the car. The dealership’s general manager could argue that you should have determined whether you could afford the monthly payments before purchasing the car.
- It’s up to the dealership whether to allow you to bring back the car and exchange it for something more affordable.
- Speak with the salesperson who sold you the car first.
- If that doesn’t work, contact the sales manager or the dealership’s general manager.
- Once you’ve exhausted those options, look into other methods to lower your monthly payments,
Refinancing your auto loan with a lower interest rate or a longer term can lower your monthly payment. Bankrate tip: Use an auto loan refinance calculator to see how much money you could save and compare different loan options.
Does Massachusetts lemon law cover private sales?
What is the private party lemon law? – A private seller is any person who is not a dealer who sells or offers to sell a used motor vehicle to a consumer. Under Massachusetts law, anyone who sells more than three cars in a one-year period is considered a dealer and must obtain a used car dealer license from their municipality.
- The Massachusetts Lemon Laws require private parties selling used cars to inform buyers about all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle.
- The law applies to all private party sales regardless of the price or mileage.
- Private party sellers are not required to repair the vehicle after it has been sold.
If you discover a defect that impairs the vehicle’s safety or substantially impairs its use and you can prove that the seller knew about the defect but failed to disclose it, you may rescind the contract (cancel the sale) within 30 days of the date of your purchase.
Does Ma Lemon law apply to private sales?
No, private party sales are no longer covered under the Song-Beverly Act, California’s Lemon Law.